Saturday, 14 April 2012

On My Bookshelf: Massive Haul

Hey all, 

I don't know if I have mentioned it before, but I am a massive reader. I can read a book a day when I have nothing else to do. And sometimes I would much rather curl up in bed with a good bock than do anything else. 

Who is with me? 

I have gone a bit crazy with book purchasing in the past few weeks, both in person and on my favourite book purchasing site The Book Depository. Although I try not to buy into trends too much, sometimes I just can't help what wonder if books are really as amazing as others claim. 

Now for the haul! Disclaimer: I don't usually buy this many. 

Warning: This post is long!! 


1. Mark of the Rose - Kate Pearce 
Hearing that Henry VIII's new queen is in danger, Rhys Williams engages the help of Verity Llewellyn, a lady-in-waiting eager to prove her abilities as a vampire hunter. Rhys suspects the weakening queen has fallen victim to a vampire. And the fact that she is pregnant makes the situation all the more dangerous...

2. The Lady of the Rivers - Philippa Gregory 
Jacquetta, daughter of the Count of Luxembourg and kinswoman to half the royalty of Europe, was married to the great Englishman John, Duke of Bedford, uncle to Henry VI. Widowed at the age of nineteen she took the extraordinary risk of marrying a gentleman of her household for love.

3. Through the Children's Gate - Adam Gopnik 
Adam Gopnik, the highly esteemed, prize winning New Yorker writer, moved his young family back to New York City in 2000. This is a chronicle, by turns tender and hilarious, about raising a family in the middle of Manhattan

4. Delirium - Lauren Oliver 
They say that the cure for Love will make me happy and safe forever. And I've always believed them. Until now. Now everything has changed. Now, I'd rather be infected with love for the tiniest sliver of a second than live a hundred years smothered by a lie.

5. Pandemonium - Lauren Oliver 
After falling in love, Lena and Alex flee their oppressive society where love is outlawed and everyone must receive "the cure"--an operation that makes them immune to the delirium of love--but Lena alone manages to find her way to a community of resistance fighters, and although she is bereft without the boy she loves, her struggles seem to be leading her toward a new love.

6. My Father's Keeper - Julie Gregory 
A powerful and compelling memoir of growing up with a schizophrenic father, who hid his mental illness behind a charismatic larger-than-life, gluttonous personality and found logical explanations for the most bizarre ways of thinking.

7. Uprising - Scott G. Mariani 
A new war is dawning! For millennia, the vampires walked the earth undetected, feasting on humans in keeping with ancient tradition. In the Information Age, vampires realised they must be more careful to avoid detection. In the late 20th century they created the global Vampire Federation to police vampire activity, with special agents like Alex Bishop authorised to hunt down her own kind who break the laws. The old traditions are history. But not all vampires bow down to Federation rule. 

9. The Borgias - Christopher Hibbert 
The name Borgia is synonymous with the corruption, nepotism, and greed that were rife in Renaissance Italy. The powerful, voracious Rodrigo Borgia, better known to history as Pope Alexander VI, was the central figure of the dynasty. This title presents a portrait the Borgia family.

10. By Nightfall - Michael Cunningham 
The whole course of one's life really can change in an instant.

11. Prophecy - S.F Parris 
A Tudor thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, renegade monk, philosopher and heretic, for fans of C. J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose

12. The Pact - Jodi Picoult 
Until the phone calls came at three o'clock on a November morning, the Golds and their neighbors, the Hartes, had been inseparable. It was no surprise to anyone when their teenage children, Chris and Emily, began showing signs that their relationship was moving beyond that of lifelong friends. But now seventeen-year-old Emily is dead—shot with a gun her beloved and devoted Chris pilfered from his father's cabinet as part of an apparent suicide pact—leaving two devastated families stranded in the dark and dense predawn, desperate for answers about an unthinkable act and the children they never really knew. From "New York Times" bestselling author Jodi Picoult—one of the most powerful writers in contemporary fiction—comes a riveting, timely, heartbreaking, and terrifying novel of families in anguish and friendships ripped apart by inconceivable violence.

 I think we all know these two - sexy vampire novels!! 

13. Dark Lover - J.R Ward 

14. Lover Eternal - J.R Ward 


House of Night Series - P.C and Kirstin Cast 

I don't really enjoy this series that much, maybe I would if I was younger - I am not sure. But once I start something, I must finish it! 

15. Untamed 
16. Hunted
17. Tempted
18. Burned 
19. Awakened 
20. Destined 


21. Kiss of the Rose - Kate Pearce 
A debut novel and the first title in the Tudor Vampire Chronicles, a sexy new paranormal series about vampires and vampire hunters in the court of King Henry VIII. Original.

22. Bood of the Rose - Kate Pearce 
Reunited a year after defeating a rogue vampire who was threatening Henry VIII, vampire slayer Rosalind Llewellyn and Christopher Ellis now face a new threat that could destroy their last chance at happiness. 

23. Wither - Lauren DeStefano 
At age 16, Rhine Ellery has four years to live. Thanks to a botched effort to create a perfect race, all females live to age 20 and males live to age 21. On the cusp of her 17th birthday, Rhine attempts to flee, but what she finds is a society spiraling out of control.

24. If Looks Could Kill - Beverly Barton 
She had a face to die for! You'll be up all night with this addictive thriller from the New York Times bestselling author.

25. The Memory Collector - Meg Gardiner 
A pulse-pounding, race-against-time thriller featuring forensic psychiatrist Jo Beckett.

26. The Bride's Farewell - Meg Rosoff
On the morning of her wedding, Pell Ridley creeps out of bed in the dark, kisses her sisters goodbye and flees - determined to escape a future that offers nothing but hard work and sorrow. She takes the only thing that truly belongs to her.

27. Fever - Lauren DeStefano 
In a future where genetic engineering has cured humanity of all diseases and defects but has also produced a virus that kills all females by age twenty and all males by the age twenty-five, teenaged Rhine escapes her forced marriage and journeys back to New York to find her twin brother.

Oh my, that post was hard work!! Sorry for all the words! 

Let me know if you decide to pick any of these up or have read any. 

What books have you been buying lately? 

If you enjoy reading too, join Goodreads and friend me at: 
http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/7606117-sharleena-bramley

Hope you all have a great night! xx

18 comments:

  1. Replies
    1. Thank you!! Glad you enjoyed the post! xx

      Delete
  2. wow that is one amazing book haul! :) I LOVED The Pact by Jodi Picoult she is such an amazing writer in fact I am obsessed with all her books lol. Great haul, I'm jealous! :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I've heard so many great things about it, definitely can't wait to read it! She is amazing! Haha, thanks! I usually don't haul this many books! xx

      Delete
  3. Thank you so much for your sweet comment!! Of course I follow you back!
    If you want we can follow also with bloglovin, fashiolista, google+, twitter and facebook?
    Come back soon to visit my blog, I'll be waiting for you!!
    Cosa mi metto???

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You are most welcome!!

      Sure! My twitter and Facebook links are at the top of my blog! :)

      Sharleena xx

      Delete
  4. Wow! Huge book haul :) I am still working on my mini book haul from this fall. I wish I had more time to read! Great post.

    Heatherhoneyblog.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Glad you liked the post! I wish I had more time to read as well! Between uni and work, I can only squeeze minimal amounts in :( xx

      Delete
  5. I marked all the books so that I can read them when the summer comes (unfortunately college is not high school so I don't have lots of time for free reading during semester ;-)). However, I did read House of Night series and I love the story.
    Have a spectacular day,

    xoxo
    http://marinnelle.blogspot.com/

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know what you mean! Between university and work I barely have any time to read anymore - so sad! Maybe if I read more of the series I will enjoy it? Thanks for stopping by! xx

      Delete
  6. I really like your blog dear!
    Keep posting!!

    XX

    ReplyDelete
  7. Oh. My. Word. Those are looaaaddsss of books! Wonder how long it'll take you to read them.. How far have you gotten?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. There are quite a few of them, haha! I'm quite a quick reader, so if I get stuck into them I should be done soon enough. As of this moment, I have read 5 :) xx

      Delete
  8. Hi! Found you through BlogLoveTherapy's blog hop. Have you finished any of this yet? Any recommendations? (^_^) Also, have you read the Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews?
    (^^,)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I saw that series the other day, and was thinking of checking it out! Is it good?!

      I have read a few, and definitely recommend The Lady of the Rivers, Wither & Fever and The Lover series! All quite addicting reads!

      Thanks for stopping by and following! xx

      Delete
  9. 0o0o great book haul I love The Book Depository! Im in the middle of reading Meet me at the cupcake cafe by Jenny Colgan. But vampire books would have to be my fave Ive read the first 3 of the House of night series but it just kind of dragged on for me so I stopped. I also started on Blue Bloods by Melissa De La Cruz but for some reason im just not feeling it! Anyway glad I found your blog

    Skye
    x

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oooh! Is that a good book? I must check it out!
      Yeah I haven't read any more House of Night as of yet, it definitely does drag! And I haven't read any of the Blue Bloods series, hmm.

      I'm glad you like the blog! xx

      Delete

Hi lovelies!
Leave me a lil something, I appreciate all of my comments.
Leave the link to your blog as well, and I will try to check it out!
Sharleena xx